MBB’s Drew Named to Texas Sports Hall of Fame Class of 2023

MBB’s Drew Named to Texas Sports Hall of Fame Class of 2023


WACO, Texas – Baylor men’s basketball head coach Scott Drew is one of eight new members of the Texas Sports Hall of Fame, announced as a member of the class of 2023 on Wednesday.

A two-time national coach of the year, Drew joins Robert Brazile (Houston Oilers), Jose Cruz (Houston Astros), Carlette Guidry Falkquay (University of Texas), Priest Holmes (San Antonio Marshall High School/University of Texas), Adrian Peterson (Palestine High School), Cynthia Potter (Houston Lamar HS) and Michael Strahan (Texas Southern) in the newest TSHOF Class.

Entering his 20th season at the helm of the men’s basketball program, Drew has engineered one of the greatest rebuilds in college basketball history, which reached its pinnacle in April of 2021 when the Bears captured the program’s first-ever National Championship.

With 397 wins, he is Baylor’s all-time winningest coach and has transformed the Bears into one of the most consistent programs in the game, joining Kansas as the only Power-5 program with 18+ wins every season since 2008.

In addition to the national title in 2021, Drew has led Baylor to 10 NCAA Tournament appearances, five Sweet 16 berths and three trips to the Elite Eight. Additionally, the program achieved its first No. 1 national ranking, a Big 12 Conference-record 23-game winning streak, two five-week streaks at No. 1, and an entire season ranked in the nation’s top-3 in 2021.

Baylor joins Gonzaga as the only programs ranked No. 1 nationally in each of the last three seasons and is one of four programs to earn No. 1 national rankings in four of the last six seasons, joining Duke, Gonzaga and Kansas. Baylor has averaged 24 wins per season since the first year Drew led BU to the NCAA Tournament in 2008.

The three-time defending Big 12 Coach of the Year has the Bears poised for another big season. The league’s coaches picked them as the preseason conference favorite for the second time in three seasons. Adam Flagler was named to the preseason All-Big 12 squad, while Keyonte George was tabbed as the preseason Freshman of the Year and joined LJ Cryer as an All-Big 12 Honorable mention selection.

Season tickets are on sale now and can be purchased at BaylorBears.com. Follow @BaylorMBB on Twitter, Instagram and Facebook for additional updates.

The 62nd Annual Texas Sports Hall of Fame Induction Banquet, presented by Texas Farm Bureau Insurance, will be held in the BASE at Extraco Events Center in Waco, Texas, on Saturday, April 15, 2023. Tickets and sponsorship packages for the 2023 Texas Sports Hall of Fame Induction Banquet and Reception are on sale now and available at tshof.org/2023. For more information or questions, please contact Krista Martin at krista.martin@tshof.org or 254-756-1633.

Jackie Robinson — Basketball — 1966
Wesley Bradshaw — Football — 1966
Barton Koch – Football – 1967
John Drew Johnson — Football — 1973
Frank Bridges — Football Coach — 1973
Bill Henderson — Basketball Coach — 1976
Jack Patterson — Track Coach — 1980
Ted Lyons — Baseball — 1985
Bill Glass — Football — 1987
Grant Teaff — Football Coach — 1995
Mike Singletary — Football — 1995
Jody Conradt — Basketball — 1997
Clyde Hart — Track Coach — 2000
Larry Isbell — Football — 2000
Carroll Dawson — Basketball Coach — 2003
Stanley Williams — Football — 2003
Jim Ray Smith – Football – 2007
Lawrence Elkins — Football — 2009
Kim Mulkey — Basketball Coach — 2009
Don Trull – Football – 2014
Jeremy Wariner — Track and Field — 2015
Robert Griffin III — Football — 2020

Scott Drew — Basketball Coach — 2023

s.parentNode.insertBefore(t,s)}(window, document,’script’,
fbq(‘init’, ‘477395939504088’);
fbq(‘track’, ‘PageView’);


Source link

Jorge Oliveira

https://www.linkedin.com/in/marketing-online-ireland/ https://muckrack.com/jorge_oliveira