• News

Ruth is Ardee’s Best Pupil as students celebrated for years acheivements

Sisters Ruth and Fiona McAnespie won the Student of the Year awards for their respective year groups, while Ruth was named the Tom Dalton Student of the Year.

Ruth McAnespie and teacher Mary Duffy at Ardee Community School's annual awards ceremony. Photo Credit: ACS.

Ardee Community School celebrated the very best of their students achievements in and out of the classroom on Thursday last at the school’s annual awards day.

Sixth year pupil Ruth McAnespie won the Tom Dalton Student of the Year gong for new efforts in the 2017/18 academic year. Meanwhile, her sister Fiona claimed the Best Overall Result in the Junior Certificate examinations.


Donal McKenny was named Fifth Year Student of the Year while Abi McAlester, Shane Roach and Lauren Commins were commended with Full Attendance Awards having not missed a single day during the span of their time at Ardee Community School.

At the end of a wildly successful year for sports in which the senior GAA team won the All-Ireland C Championship, captain Conor Gillespie was named Senior Male Sports Person of the Year. Tara McGuinnes, a fifth year student, won the female award for representing the school with distinction in multiple sports such as rugby and athletics.

The event was MC’d by Head Boy Cormac Rafferty and Head Girl Katie Commins, which Niamh Crawley (Chairperson of the Student Council) and Principal Mary Jackson addressed the audience in the school’s Dalton Room.

She paid tribute to all of those who excelled both in academic pursuits and extra-curricular activity – whilst also praising the teaching staff who work tirelessly to support the students in all of their various endeavours. In the Junior Cycle awards, the school’s younger pupils were honoured for their efforts over the past nine months.

Joe O’Brien won the first year Student of the Year while Aine Balfe won the second year prize. Ahead of sitting her Junior Certificate exams next month Fiona McAnespie, younger sister of Ruth, won third year Student of the Year.

Ciara Skelly and Luke Matthews won the Junior Sports Personality prizes.


Loading comments...