• News

Here’s the full list of 2018 Ardee BAFTA Award nominees

Some of the nominees for the 2018 Ardee BAFTAs. Photo Credit: Adrian Crawley.
This article originally appeared on ThisIsArdee.ie

27 businesses and business owners will compete for six gongs later this month at the sixth annual Ardee BAFTA Awards held at the Nuremore Hotel – and ThisIsArdee.ie can exclusively reveal who will be going head-to-head in the voting to take home a prize on the night.

The BAFTAs (Baile Atha Fherdhia Traders Association) Awards will take place on Saturday next, January 13th, at 7.30pm at the Nuremore Hotel, Carrickmacross. The now annual event celebrating the best of retail and service business in Ardee is as popular an event as ever on the social calendar locally. This year, tickets have been moving fast.


However, the nominees shortlisted for awards have been kept under wraps – until now. ThisIsArdee.ie can reveal that 27 nominees have been selected to contest across six categories.

In what is sure to be a hotly sought affair title, four businesses will vie for the Champagne Award for Most Sparkling Staff. Ardee Credit Union, O’Brien’s Spar, Callaghan’s Butchers and Moorehall Lodge are the nominees in that category.

As well as awards for business, the Cool & The Gang Award for Best Community Group offers local clubs and voluntary organisations an opportunity to get in the limelight. Last year’s winners Ardee Concert Band will hope to maintain their crown against Ardee Tidy Towns, Ardee Floral Club, Ardee Rugby Club, Ardee & District Athletic Club and Ardee Hospice.

The Bruce Springsteen Award for Best Boss will pit Frank Lennon (Ardee Coach Trim), Bryan Lynch (Bryan Lynch Salads), John Caffrey (Caffrey’s Bakery), Emma McKenna (Emma’s Touch) and David Brennan (Ardee Sports Company) against eachother.

All four nominees in the Facebook Fanatic category will be pushing hard to get votes in their favour between now and the vote closing. Social media stalwarts Ardee Pharmacy & Giftware join Finlay’s Sweetshop, Hamills of Number 19 and Ardee Pet Supplies in the fight for victory there.

The ‘Dapper Dude’ and ‘Classy Lassy’ categories are – not based on sartorial style – but instead aim to pick the Businessman and Businesswoman of the Year in Ardee. Brian Sharkey (Paul Sharkey Drapers), David Dowling (Bank of Ireland), Paul Eaton (Richard McDonnell Solicitors) and Thomas Lynch Jnr (Firrin Foods) will contest the men’s category with Ann O’Flynn (O’Flynn’s Pharmacy), Deirdre Dickson (Proactive Solutions), Grainne McArdle (Bambino) and Sara McDonnell (Richard McDonnell Solicitors) the women up for your vote.

Unlike previous years, this time around all of the categories are open for public voting – and ThisIsArdee.ie will exclusively host the voting for the BAFTAs. Voting has now opened on ThisIsArdee.ie and you can vote by clicking here. It will close at 5pm on Friday January 12th. Keep an eye out on social media for links to voting and more information.

A limited number of tickets are still available for the BAFTA Awards night – which will include a drinks reception before a lavish four course meal followed by the awards, music and lots of fun throughout the evening too. Tickets are priced at €50 and those interested in tickets or booking a table are asked to call into Sizzlers or O’Neill’s Menswear as soon as possible to avoid disappointment and pick theirs up.

Alternatively, you can e-mail [email protected] or call Anne-Marie Rice on 086 326 4469.

Last year’s event saw seven awards handed out on the night – including McGoey’s Pharmacy picking up the gong for Best Customer Service, while Keith Kerr’s KK Construction was awarded the title of Best Newcomer for 2016.

Noelle Douglas and Paul Farrell won the Businesswoman and Businessman of the Year respectively. Ardee Concert Band emerged victorious in the Best Community Involved Group category while Callaghan’s Butchers won the Age Friendly Award.

William Martin – producer of the Wild Goose Lodge movie – won a special award for his efforts in bringing the local story to the big screen.

The 2018 categories and nominees are listed below, in full.

The Champagne Award’ – Staff With The Most Sparkling Personality
  • Callaghan’s Butchers
  • O’Brien’s Spar
  • Ardee Credit Union
  • Moorehall Lodge
‘Facebook Fanatic’ – Most Enthusiastic Facebook User
  • Hamill’s of Number 19
  • Finlay’s Sweetshop
  • Ardee Pet Supplies
  • Ardee Pharmacy & Giftware
Dapper Dude’ – Ardee Businessman of the Year 2017
  • Thomas Lynch Jnr (Firrin Foods)
  • Brian Sharkey (Paul Sharkey Drapers)
  • David Dowling (Bank of Ireland)
  • Paul Eaton (Richard McDonnell Solicitors)
‘Classy Lassy’ – Ardee Businesswoman of the Year 2017
  • Sara McDonnell (Richard McDonnell Solicitors)
  • Ann O’Flynn (O’Flynn’s Pharmacy)
  • Deirdre Dickson (Proactive Solutions)
  • Graine McArdle (Bambino)
‘The Bruce Springsteen, AKA The Boss, Award’ – Best Boss in Town
  • John Caffrey (Caffrey’s Bakery)
  • Emma McKenna (Emma’s Touch)
  • Frank Lennon (Ardee Coach Trim)
  • Bryan Lynch (Bryan Lynch Salads)
  • David Brennan (Ardee Sports Company)
‘Cool & The Gang’ – Best Community Group 2017
  • Ardee Rugby Club
  • Ardee Hospice
  • Ardee Concert Band
  • Ardee Floral Club
  • Ardee & District Athletic Club
  • Ardee Tidy Towns

Loading comments...