• Sport

Seven Ardee CS stars make Lennon Cup longlist

Neil Kerr, Alan McGauley, Conor Gillespie and Trevor Matthews.
This article originally appeared on ThisIsArdee.ie

Players from John Mitchels, Westerns GFC and Ardee St Marys are in the running to make the Lennon Cup 2017 All-Star team, with online voting now open to select the XV.

Marys duo Conor Gillespie and Ciaran Keenan, who made last year’s All-Star team, are once again on the long lost – as are Marys teammates Alan McGauley (goalkeeper), Donal McKenny (back) and forward Shane Matthews.


There’s other local representation in the form of Neil Kerr (Westerns) and Trevor Matthews (John Mitchels) who are fighting to earn places in midfield and in the forward line respectively.

Ardee Community School will contest the Lennon Cup final against St Josephs CBS Drogheda as they bid to win the trophy for the first time since 2013. St Josephs, winners in the last two years, will provide their sternest test yet.

The Drogheda school ended Ardee hopes of a Lennon Cup triumph last year with a 2-09 to 0-12 win at the semifinal stage before going onto claim the prize. St Josephs have seven players nominated for the All-Stars this time around, including 2016 All-Stars Niall McDonnell and Alan Connor.

Having had 11 different players represent the school on Lennon Cup All-Star teams between 201 and 2014, the last two years has seen just three players – Keenan, Gillespie in 2016 and David Cluskey in 2015 – make the grade.

Donal McKenny, Ciaran Keenan and Shane Matthews are all up for your Lennon Cup consideration.

The seven shortlisted players from Ardee CS is one short of the eight shortlisted in 2o16, despite Anthony Durnin’s team blazing a seemingly unstoppable trail to the final.

Stopper McGauley and Kerr were also nominated last year as were Andrew Bingham, Lorcan Dixon, Philip Trainor and Conor Hennessy. Keenan and Gillespie were the successful two (below).

The Argus and the Drogheda Independent newspapers have once again teamed up with DKIT GAA Club and Louth GAA for this year’s Lennon Cup All-Stars.  The team will be selected from a public vote, which will account for 50% of the overall vote, and a panel of judges.

In the event of a tie, public voting will determine the selection. You can now vote online for the 2017 Lennon Cup All-Star team by clicking here. The closing date for entries is 6pm on Wednesday December 6th. You must select a full XV for our vote to count.

Ardee CS and St Marys duo Conor Gillespie and Ciaran Keenan are 2016 All-Stars.

Loading comments...