• Sport

Joe makes the Leinster Future Stars grade

Joe Mulholland representing Ardee Community School. Photo Credit: Adrian Crawley.
This article originally appeared on ThisIsArdee.ie

Ardee Community School has been represented by just one player on the 2017 Leinster Rugby Future Stars team after Joe Mulholland was named on the XV at DKIT on Wednesday night.

After another impressive season in league and cup competition, eight young stars from Ardee Community School made the shortlist for ther second Leinster Rugby Future Stars as announced last week, but Mulholland was the only player who made the selection and makes hs debut on the panel.


In 2016, six players from Ardee CS were voted onto the team but that representation has been heavily reduced this year. Nominees Cyr Bakekolo, James Reilly, Conor Gillespie, Conor Hennessy, Conor Watters, Eoin Sullivan and Lorcan Dixon miss out.

The Future Stars vote is held by The Drogheda Independent and The Argus newspapers in association with Leinster Rugby, DKIT Sport and CX+ Sport. They ask readers to vote for their Leinster Rugby Future Stars XV made up of players from throughout schools in Louth, Meath and Monaghan.

Among the 45 strong longlist, eight players from Ardee Community School made the grade, following 10 nominations and six selections from Ardee CS in 2016.

Last year, Fly Half Conor Hennnessy, 2nd rows Jack O’Reilly and Eoin Sullivan, Hooker Cillian O’Neill, Prop Cyr Bakekolo and No 8 Conor Watters made up the Ardee contingent in the 15. The six-strong panel was more than any other school managed after the votes were counted.

Mulholland scored two of Ardee CS’ three tries in last week’s McMullen Cup final defeat at Donnybrook Stadium and takes his place among the Back Three in the Future Stars team.

The Leinster Rugby Future Stars award is now in it’s second year and was created to recognise the effort and talents of under 18 rugby players in Louth and around the North East. Leinster senior stars Dave Kearney, Brian Byrne and Dominic Ryan were on hand in Dundalk tonight to provide the young players with their Future Stars shirt.

Loading comments...