• News

1957 team tribute for Ardee next week

Dolores Minogue
Dolores Minogue photographed at the Fair Green in Ardee in 2016. Photo Credit: Adrian Crawley.
This article originally appeared on ThisIsArdee.ie

Details have been announced about the upcoming event in Ardee taking place to commemorate Louth’s All-Ireland winning football team of 1957.

GAA President Aogan O’Fearghail will be in attendance next Wednesday (February 1st) in the town at a special tree planting on the main street. The 1957 Tree will act as a permanent tribute to the team who won their first All-Ireland 60 years ago this year by beating Cork at Croke Park.


Surviving members of the team and their families have been invited to the event which gets underway at 2pm at Brian Muldoons. Pupils from local schools have been invited to attend and they will be keen to get their photo taken with the Sam Maguire, which O’Fearghail hopes to have with him on his visit. Awards will also be handed out to members of the team and family members of the deceased.

The initiative has been supported by Ardee St Marys, the Ardee Traders & Business Association and the Ardee Tidy Towns group – and Minogue has pressed ahead with the commemorative tree despite the idea being dismissed by other councillors at the December meeting of the Ardee Municipal District committee.

Minogue had tabled a motion ahead of the meeting asking the council plant a tree to mark the anniversary of the famous win, and call it ‘The 1957 Tree’. However, when seeking for her motion to be seconded at the meeting none of the other councillors present did so and it was defeated.

However, following our report on the decision to overlook a potential tribute to the All-Ireland winners, public outcry was sizeable and cathaoirleach Minogue sought to plant the tree regardless. She invited the GAA President to the event – and that invitation has been accepted by the Croke Park supremo.

“I for one am very proud not only that we won it but that we have these players, their friends and family in Ardee,” Minogue told ThisIsArdee.ie last month. “People really wanted it to happen and it has,” she told this week’s Mid-Louth Independent.

The All-Ireland winning team from 1957.


Ardee has a very strong affiliation with Louth’s 1957 All-Ireland winning team – with Ollie Reilly, Patsy Coleman, Jim Roe, Aidan Magennis, Barney McCoy and Dermot O’Brien, plus Stabannon’s Stephen White and Tom Conlon, all part of the panel that secured what is to date Louth’s last All-Ireland title.

Thousands of people lined the streets of the town to welcome back their local heroes on the night – or more accurately early morning after – Louth returned from Croke Park in Dublin after their 1-09 to 1-07 win over Cork.

Loading comments...