• News

Minogue joins Louth’s Road Safety group

Ardee Municipal District councillor Dolores Minogue.
This article originally appeared on ThisIsArdee.ie

Dolores Minogue has been elected as the Ardee Municipal representative on Louth’s Road Safety Working Together Group.

The selection was made at last Thurday’s monthly meeting of the Ardee Municipal District committee, where the chairperson was voted into the position ahead of Sinn Fein’s Pearse McGeough.


The new body is part of a national policy which requires each local county authority to set up a Road Safety Working Together Group. The idea is that each group puts together a road safety strategy that would run from 2017 to 2020 and it’s key aim is to try and reduce road fatalities and serious injuries.

The group will will see representatives from across a wide range of stakeholders including the Road Safety Authority, Transport Infrastructure Ireland, the Gardai, the local fire service, county council engineers and the Louth Meath Education Training Board as well as the HSE Ambulance Service.

The committee will meet three to four times a year. Jim Tenanty proposed McGeough as the chair of the Joint Policing Committee, which was seconded by Tom Cunningham. Minogue was proposed by Liam Reilly as chair of the Municipal District, a proposal seconded by her Fine Gael colleague Colm Markey.

After votes were tied at three apiece, Minogue herself (in her role as Municipal chair) was left to cast the deciding vote which she did in her favour.

Loading comments...